` CITY TOUR – The 2nd World Irrigation Forum (WIF2)
Loading
TEL : +662-669-3465
FAX : +662-669-3086
EMAIL : info@worldirrigationforum.net

2nd World Irrigation Forum

ATTRACTIVE PLACES

City Tour Overview

Thailand’s “Rose of the North” is a cultural and natural wonderland with ethnic diversity, a multitude of attractions and welcoming hospitality.
Chiang Mai literally means “new city” and has retained the name despite celebrating its 700th anniversary in 1996. King Meng Rai the Great founded the city as the capital of the Lanna Kingdom on Thursday, April 12 1296 around the same time as the establishment of the Sukhothai Kingdom. King Meng Rai even conferred with his friends, King Ramkhamhaeng of Sukhothai and King Ngam Muang of Phayao before choosing the site where the capital of the Lanna Kingdom was to be founded. Henceforth, Chiang Mai not only became the capital and cultural core of the Lanna Kingdom, it was also to be the center of Buddhism in northern Thailand. King Meng Rai himself was a very religious leader who even founded many of the city’s temples that remain important to this day. Chiang Mai is one of the few places in Thailand where it is possible to experience both historical and modern Thai culture coexisting side by side: the city features centuries-old pagodas and temples next to modern convenience stores and boutique hotels. This dichotomy is best appreciated within the moat-encircled old city, which retains much of the fortified wall that once protected the city center as well as the four main gates that provided access to the former Lanna capital city. Strangely, for many years tourists had mistaken Chiang Mai simply as the base from which they could plan trekking and rafting trips to hill tribe villages and explore other provinces. Once in Chiang Mai, however, tourists are surprised by the fact that there are so many things to discover other than its beautiful and historic temples. Intriguing diversity among ethnic tribes, a number of elephant camps, many cooking and massage schools, numerous outdoor activities, a variety of handicrafts workshops, various cultural performances, and breathtaking scenery make Chiang Mai one of Asia’s most attractive tourist destinations. The phrase “a day in Chiang Mai is enough to see things around town” was once a common expression. Today, two weeks in Chiang Mai may not be long enough for travelers to experience all that Chiang Mai has to offer.
The old city of Chiang Mai is a showcase of the north’s fascinating indigenous cultural identity that includes diverse dialects, a delectable cuisine, distinctive architecture, traditional values, lively festivals, numerous handicrafts workshops, northern style massage, and classical dances. Chiang Mai is also blessed with pristine natural resources including mountains, waterfalls, and rivers. The presence of numerous hill tribes that feature a wealth of unique cultures enhances Chiang Mai’s distinctive diversity. Hill tribe trekking, often combined with river rafting and elephant riding has always been one of Chiang Mai’s greatest tourist attractions. Nowadays there are innumerable activities and attractions both in the city and the surrounding province, including massage instruction and golf. Moreover, visitors can visit workshops where they can learn about the production of silk or silver, and purchase memorable, hand-crafted souvenirs. With such a diverse range of attractions and an equally grand selection of dining and accommodation options, Chiang Mai is a place where both backpackers and luxury tourists can enjoy the ultimate Thailand holiday.

ct-t1

KHRU BA SI WICHAI MONUMENT (SINLATHAM CHAO)

Situated at the foot of Doi Suthep Hill, a monument is contributed to Khru Ba Siwichai, a revered Buddhist monk who initiated, together with a large number of Buddhists, a construction of the first 10-kilometre of the road to Wat Phra That Doi Suthep, which was completed in 1935.

ct-t2

Wat Phra That Doi Suthep

Perhaps the most famous and important temple in Chiang Mai every visitor must pay a visit. On top of Doi Suthep Hill, at 3,520 feet above sea level, finds the revered golden Phra That (chedi) of Wat Phra That Doi Suthep rises against the sunlight. The temple was built in 1383 to enshrine Buddha’s relics. You can actually drive uphill to the higher platform but a lot of devout Buddhists choose to pilgrim by walking 290 steps up to the hilltop. After praying the Phra That for good lucks, don not forget to proceed to the terrace to soak up panoramic views of Chiang Mai town and surrounding countrysides.

ct-t3

Bhubing Palace

The Bhubing Palace is located on Doi Buak Ha, Muang District, Chiang Mai Province. It is the royal winter residence in Chiang Mai where the Royal family stays during seasonal visits to the people in the northern part of Thailand.
The palace is also the royal guesthouse for prominent state visitors from abroad. In the past Their Majesties welcomed or granted royal audience to State visitors only in the capital of Bangkok. Bhubing Palace was built in 1961. The construction started initially with only the royal resident building and the guesthouse. The other buildings were additionally built on later dates.

Bhubing Rajanives Phra Tamnak Bhubing Rajanives was built in northern Thai architectural style called “Ruen Mu” (Group of Houses). The building sits on stilts. The upper floor is the royal residential area while the ground floor houses the royal entourage.
The building master plan was design by Prince Samaichalerm Kridagara while Mom Rachawongse Mitrarun Kasemsri designed the building.
The construction of the Palace was undertaken by the Crown Property Bureau, under the supervision of Prince Samaichalerm Kridagara, assisted by Mom Mom Rachawongse Mitrarun Kasemsri and Mr. Pradit Yuwapukka. General Luang Kampanath Saenyakorn, the Privy Councilor was assigned to lay foundation stone on August 24, 1961 at 10.49 am. The Construction took 5 months to complete. The first royal visitors to stay at the palace were King Federick the Ninth and Queen Ingrid of Denmark on their royal visit to Thailand in January 1962

ct-t5

Doi Pui Hmong Village

To be honest, this Hmong Village has been hugely affected by tourists such that you can really feel that the culture it had is being lost. Having said that, not all the villagers are involved in the tourist trade…you can tell how important farming and traditional crafts like clothes making (which has surely long been a ‘tourist’ trade anyhow) still is here. The farmers come back to comforts like electricity and TV (and probably soon the internet).
Life seems hard for some here – and there didn’t seem to be so many young adults – chances are many have left to find work down in Chiang Mai.
The scenery is stunning as you can see from the pictures. When you first arrive there’s an open area where the local villagers play sport when the sun’s not high. Around this area are numerous restaurants. The streets of the village are lined with shops, most selling traditional Hmong clothes. Some even have a rental service where you can put the clothes on and have your photo taken. For the number of tourists, there seems a disordinate number of shops.

ct-t2-1

Wat Lok Molee

Amphoe Muang, An old and significant site,There is no record of the temple’s founding date, but its name first appeared in historical texts in 1367.The Sixth Lanna King of the Mengrai Dynasty invited a group of 10 monks from Burma to bring thair study practice of Buddhism to his kingdom (present day Northern Thailand ). The monks stay at this temples. Pra Kaew Muang ordered a chedi built in 1527 and the main hall built in 1545. The temple houses the ashes of members of the royal Mengrai Dynasty, and was maintained by The royal family until the end of dynastry

ct-t2-2

WAT KUTAO TEMPLE

The temple is called ku tao because of its characteristic water melon (which is tao in the northern dialect) shaped chedi. This temple is also known as wearuwanaram vihan. Which suggests that the vihan is located in a forest of bamboo. The name o this temple was mentioned in a document written curing the reign of king phaya yod chiangrai. In 1492. the cocument states that: “after the prince suriyawong, the son of phraya wh ruled the area to the south of the city of chiangmai. Had been ordinated. He was invited to stay in wat wearuwan ku yao. Chiangmai. At the present there is a chedi situated on a square base surmounted by a circular five-tiered relic chamber. On each of the four sides of the relic chamber there is a niche used to house a burmese buddha image on top of this is a small round bell shaped feature with a spire The chedi has been decorated using small pieces of glass. This is particularly evident on the columns of the niches which are decorated with a western style circular pattern.

ct-t2-3

Kuan ka ma temple

History of this temple writing on wooden sign above(I think it’s no permanent sign) tell about this temple don’t have distinct history but was built in 2035 B.E. by a merchant that love his house so much. When the house dead he was built this temple for remembrance. And donated this land for temple

ct-t2-4

Wat Phra Singh

Construction on Wat Phra Singh began in 1345 when King Phayu, the fifth king of the Mangrai dynasty, had a chedi built to house the ashes of his father King Kham Fu. A wihan and several other buildings were added a few years later and the resulting complex was named Wat Lichiang Phra. When, in 1367, the statue of Phra Buddha Singh was brought to the temple, the temple complex received its present name. During restoration works in 1925, three funerary urns were discovered inside a small chedi. It was assumed that these contained royal ashes. The urns have since been lost. From 1578 to 1774 the Burmese ruled Lanna and in this period the temple was abandoned and came under serious disrepair. It was only when King Kawila assumed the throne as King of Chiang Mai in 1782, that the temple was restored. King Kawila had the ubosot built and the chedi enlarged. Later successors restored the Wihan Lai Kham and the elegant Ho Trai (temple library).The whole temple complex underwent extensive renovations under the famous monk Khru Ba Srivichai during the 1920s. Many of the buildings were again restored in 2002.

ct-t2-5

Pun tao Temple

They guess at the old time this temple had built close to JD Luang temple. At the old time Puntao mean thousand time but today people change the voice of a bit of this temple name and this voice has no meaning. In the old time make a merit in this temple only one time but means make a merit for thousand times. The temple set at north east of JD Luang that believe it’s the good luck direction of location. Though don’t know the time of sat this temple but there is a legend that is temple use to be a blast furnace of Uttarod Buddha of JD luang temple so they call Puntao temple (tao mean furnace, Pun mean thousand)

ct-t2-7

Wat Chedi Luang

Wat Chedi Luang on Pra Pokklao Road is the old site of an enormous pagoda (chedi), originally 85 metres high, which was partially destroyed during an earthquake in 1545. At one time, Wat Chedi Luang housed the revered Emerald Buddha image now found in Bangkok’s Wat Pra Kaeow in the Grand Palace compound. One of the most striking architectural features of Wat Chedi Luang is a Naga (dragon) staircase adorning the main chapel’s front porch.

ct-t2-8

Wat Sri Suphan

This temple was built by King Muang Keaw of the Mangrai Dynasty in B.E. 2043 (1500). The main hall, the pagoda and the chapel were built later in B.E. 2052 (1509), and the Praputthapathiharn Buddha image (former called Pra Chao Jed Tue) was taken to be enshrined in the chapel, where it remains to this day. In B.E. 2537 (1994), Prakru Pitaksutthikhun, the present Abbot, together with Wua Lai villagers, restored the main hall and painted murals in the hall. The paintings mainly depict the twelve zodiac symbols; a unique pattern used in Wua Lai silverware. The painting work was led by Mr. Chaiporn Phongpak, the head craftsmen, and carried out in corporation with artists from several countries such as Japan, England, Canada and the US. Later, in B.E. 2550, an Ancient Lanna Arts Study Center was built at Wat Sri Suphan, to act as a silver arts learning center for a new generation of craftsmen.

ct-t2-9

Wat Suan Dok

Wat Suan Dok on Suthep Road was built in 1373 by a king for as a retreat for a travelling teaching monk. It is a favourite spot for photographers, particularly at sunset. Several of the Chedis contain ashes of local royals. One of northern Thailand’s largest metal images is the 500 year old bronze Buddha in a secondary chapel.

ct-t2-11

Wat U Mong

Wat U Mong is an interesting temple surrounded by a forest, just 3 km west of town on the way to Doi Suthep. Brick tunnels in an unusual flat-topped hill were supposedly fashioned around 1380 for the clairvoyant monk Thera Jan. Later on, the monastery was abandoned and wasn’t reinstated until a local prince sponsored a restoration in the late 1940s. One building contains modern artwork by various resident monks, including several foreigners. There is a very large chedi, small lake and museum/library with English language books on Buddhism. Resident foreign monks give talks in English on Sunday afternoons at 3pm by the lake.

Boo Srang, Sankamphaeng, Chiang Mai

Village make a umbrella. Native product to be extremely popular. Of tourists both thai and foreign is an umbrella village famous for doing umbrella in Boo Srang, Sankamphaeng, Chiang Mai. Visitors can a walking see make umbrella at home. An Umbrella bring out the full set lined central courtyard. Salon to dry to make look beautiful with great colors and umbrella patterns on eye-catching. The umbrella made from bamboo with mulberry paperand cotton and gauze. Using simple and mostly done by hand total.

ct-t3-1

San Kamphaeng hot springs

Only 36 kilometres from Chiang Mai town and you will be plunging in one of San Kamphaeng hot springs (that’s not too hot) amid natural surroundings of lush trees and verdant hills. The spring contains sulphur and minerals believed to help restore skin and relax stress. Beware, some springs are really hot you can actually boil eggs. Tourist facilities such as accommodation, swimming pool, restaurant and bathrooms are available within the area. dining facilities and segregated mineral water bathing rooms are available

ct-t3-2

Siam celadon

Siam Celadon, established in 1978, has a variety of handcrafted wares with a focus on celadon, the unique jade-colored crackled glaze, of great historical import. Their range covers everything from vases, to lamp bases, to figurines, to oven safe dishes and a vast range of tableware pieces. Celadon is a high-fired stoneware which embodies a traditional wood-ash glaze formula discovered in China more than 20 centuries ago. Potters, who are believed to have been brought to Siam from China by King Ramkamheng around the year 1300 to settle near Sukothai and Sawankaloke, produced these beautiful wares for more than a hundred years. Siam Celadon also produces cobalt-enriched blue glazes and under-glaze hand-painted pieces individually signed by the artist, as well as unique terra cotta glaze combined with Siam Green.

ct-t3-3
ct-t4-1

Wieng Kum Kam

Wieng Kum Kam is recently-discovered lost city formed in 1286 during the reign of King Mengrai. Historians have found that Wieng Kum Kam was a slightly large city, with an inner part framed by reservoirs. The city of Wieng Kum Kam contained numerous religious structures, but only twenty structures that were found, such as Wat Chedi Liam (read more at [link to its page]), Wat Chang Kham, Wat Noi, Wat Pu Pia, Wat Ku Khao, Wat E Kang, Wat Hua Nong, and Wat Pu Song.

ct-t4-3

Baan Tawai

Baan Tawai is the village of wood-carving handicrafts. It has been known as the major cultural attraction of Chiangmai for Thai and foreign tourists. The best quality and bargains of wood carving items can be found in Baan Tawai.
At present, a wide variety of wood carvings and other decorative items e.g. wood carving, wood-strips, gold leaf wood, antique wood, silverware, lacquer ware, hand-woven textile, basketry and earthenware, can be found in Baan Tawai at Baan Tawai handicraft Center and Baan Tawai Song Fang Klong Center.

How we became the village of wood-carving

For forty years, the art of wood carving has been passed down from generation to generation. During BE 2500-2505, the first three villagers, Pho Naan Daeng Puntusa, Pho Jaima Inkaew and Pho Huen Puntusart had left Baan Tawai to learn how to carve at Nomsilp, a manufacture shop on Wua Lai Street, Chiangmai Gate. They brought their new found skill back to Baan Tawai. The village gradually became renowned for its woodcarving expertise

The art of wooden handicrafts at Baan Tawai

• Wood-carving : typical woodwork at Baan Tawai, Chiangmai
• Wood texture- polishing : polished in order to bring out the beauty of wood texture
• Crackle Paint Wood : a paint that produce a crackled effect on the wood
• Wood antiquing : new wood made to look like antiques

ct-t4-4

Wat Phra That Hariphunchai

Phra That Hariphunchai – one of the most significant chedi in Lanna and Thailnd – is categorized as a bell-shaped chedi of the so-called genuine Lanny style. Its elements are as follows: (a) the lower section is a redented square lotus base with with a pointed moulding; (b) the middle section is a series of three-level superimposed circular lotus base with double pointed mouldings, supporting the small bell-shaped form; (c) the upper section are a redented square form, a circular post, and a series of superimposed circular mouldings topped with a tapering finial. Due to the fact that the lower bases are massively heightened, the bell-shaped form looks accordingly small. Applying gold plaques all over the chedi is a traditional style of the Lanna art. Moreover, the eight repoussed Buddha images and inscriptions in Fakkham scripts (Thai-Lanna script) under the Buddha images on the gold plaques affixed to the bell-shaped form help us date the chedi to the latter half of 14th century A.D.

ม่อนแจ่ม (Mon Cham & Nong Hoi Royal Project)

ม่อมแจ่ม ตั้งอยู่บนสันเขาบริเวณหมู่บ้านม้งหนองหอย อำเภอแม่ริม อยู่ห่างจากตัวเมืองเชียงใหม่ประมาณ 40 นาที เดิมที่บริเวณนี้ชาวบ้านเรียกว่ากิ่วเสือเป็นป่ารกร้าง ต่อมาชาวบ้านเข้ามาแผ้วถางและปลูกผิ่น จนในท้ายที่สุดโครงการหลวงมาขอซื้อพื้นที่เข้าโครงการหลวงหนองหอย เมื่อเข้าเป็นส่วนหนึ่งของโครงการหลวง คุณแจ่ม-แจ่มจรัส สุชีวะ หลานตาของ ม.จ. ภีศเดช รัชนี ประธานมูลนิธิโครงการหลวง ได้เข้ามาพัฒนาและปรับปรุงบริเวณม่อนแจ่มให้กลายเป็นสถานที่ท่องเที่ยวโดยเฉพาะในลักษณะของม่อนแจ่มแค้มปิ้งรีสอร์ท ซึ่งม่อนแจ่มเพิ่งจะเปิดตัวอย่างเป็นทางการ เมื่อเดือน พ.ย. 2552
ม่อนแจ่มมีอากาศเย็นสบายตลอดปี มีหมอกยามเช้า ช่วงที่เหมาะสำหรับท่องเที่ยวคือ เดือนตุลาคม -กุมภาพันธ์ มีจุดชมวิวสามารถมองเห็นวิวทิวทัศน์ทิวภูเขาสลับกันไกลสุดลูกหูลูกตา อีกด้านเป็นแปลงปลูกพืชและไม้เมืองหนาวของโครงการหลวง
ยอดเขาทางทิศตะวันออกมีจุดชมวิวม่อนล่อง เหมาะสำหรับชมทิวทัศน์ของพื้นที่โครงการหลวง เป็นจุดชมทะเลหมอกบนหน้าผา มองเห็นทิวทัศน์ได้กว้างไกล ชมพรรณไม้และดอกไม้ป่า เส้นทางขึ้นไม่ได้ลาดยางหรือเทปูน เป็นทางดินลูกรัง ควรใช้รถขับเคลื่อนสี่ล้อ
ทางด้านทิศใต้เป็นไหล่เขามองลงไปจะเห็นหมู่บ้านม้งหนองหอยและพื้นที่ศูนย์พัฒนาโครงการหลวงหนองหอยโดยรอบ ซึ่งเป็นแปลงปลูกผักและวิจัยพืชผักเมืองหนาว เช่น อาติโช๊ค แปลงสมุนไพรเลมอนทาร์ม มิ้น คาร์โมมายด์ โรสแมรี่ ไม้ผล เช่น พลัม องุ่นไร้เมล็ด สตรอเบอรี่พันธุ์ 80 แปลงผักไฮโดรโพนิค การปลูกพืชโดยไม่ใช้ดิน เช่น โอ้คลีฟแดง และผักตระกูลสลัด มะเขือเทศดอยคำ

ct-t5-1

Queen Sirikit Botanic Garden (QSBG).

QSBG was the first international standard botanical garden established in Thailand. Situated on the foothills of the mist-shrouded Doi Suthep-Pui mountains of Chiang Mai, Thailand, QSBG offers a mix of natural beauty along with curated gardens and glasshouses showcasing the richness of Thai, and other flora, for visitors to explore. Moreover, QSBG is home to a great number of valuable Thai plants, with a focus on rare, endemic, and endangered species. Although the main focus is on the Northern Thai flora and surrounding regions, QSBG has an integrated program of research, education and amenity with at a global perspective.
In addition to the Queen Sirikit Botanic Garden in Mae Rim, Chiang Mai, The BGO, under the Ministry of Natural Resources and Environment, oversees 5 other Botanic Gardens throughout Thailand. They are Romklao Botanic Garden (Phitsanulok province), the Rayong Botanic Garden (Rayong province), Koa Ra Botanic Garden (Phangnga), Meaung Pon Botanic Garden (Khon Kaen) and Phra Mae Ya Botanic Garden (Sukhothai).

ct-t5-2

สวนพฤกษศาสตร์สมเด็จพระนางเจ้าสิริกิติ์

สวนพฤกษศาสตร์สมเด็จพระนางเจ้าสิริกิติ์ ตั้งอยู่ในพื้นที่ตำบลแม่แรม อำเภอแม่ริม บริเวณชายเขตอุทยานแห่งชาติดอยสุเทพ-ปุย ทางเข้าอยู่ด้านซ้ายมือบริเวณหลักกิโลเมตรที่ 12 สายแม่ริม-สะเมิง สวนพฤกษศาสตร์แห่งนี้ก่อตั้งเมื่อปี 2536 มีพื้นที่ประมาณ 6,500 ไร่ สภาพโดยทั่วไปเป็นที่ราบและที่สูงสลับกันเป็นชั้นๆ ในระดับ 300-970 เมตร จัดทำเป็นสวนพฤกษศาสตร์ระดับนานาชาติ เพื่อเฉลิมพระเกียรติสมเด็จพระนางเจ้าสิริกิติ์ พระบรมราชินีนาถ ลักษณะการจัดสวนของที่นี่จะแบ่งพันธุ์ไม้ตามวงศ์และความเหมาะสมของสภาพพื้นที่ รวบรวมพันธุ์ไม้ทั้งในและต่างประเทศ เหมาะสำหรับผู้ที่ต้องการศึกษาเกี่ยวกับพันธุ์ไม้ สามารถขับรถเที่ยวชมได้

ct-t5-3

ปางช้างแม่สาและฟาร์มงู

ภายในบริเวณปางช้างแม่สา ท่านจะได้ชมครอบครัวช้างไทยและบรรดาช้างน้อยทั้ง 14 เชือก ในโครงการส่งเสริมสืบสานสายพันธุ์ช้างไทย ท่านจะได้สัมผัสความน่ารักอย่างใกล้ชิด ปางช้างแม่สาได้เปิดหอศิลปะ ปางช้าง (MAESA ELEPHANT ART EXHIBITHION HALL) ซึ่งจัดแสดงภาพวาดจากฝีมือช้างที่ได้รับการบันทึกสถิติโลกกินเนสส์ (GUINNESS WORLD RECORDS) ได้รับการบันทึกสถิติ ภาพวาดจากฝึมือช้างที่มีราคาแพงที่สุดในโลก จากนั้นไปต่อที่ฟาร์มงูชม การโชว์งูที่น่าตื่นเต้น และสาธิตการรีดพิษงู

ct-t5-4
ct-t6-1

ปางช้างแม่ตะมานและการล่องแพในลำน้ำแม่แตง

ออกเดินทางจากตัวเมืองเชียงใหม่ โดยรถตู้ ใช้เวลาประมาณ 1ชั่วโมง 20 นาที ในการเดินทางไปถึงที่หมายแรก คือ ไปที่ปางช้าง หลังจากนั้น เยี่ยมชมช้าง อาบน้ำ และ สนุกกับการโชว์ ช้างแสนรู้ อาทิเช่น ช้างแตะบอล , ช้างเล่นบาสเก็ตบอล รวมถึงช้างวาดรูปหลังจากนั้น นั่งช้างประมาณ 1 ชั่วโมง เส้นทางในการเดินป่าโดยช้างนั้นเราจะสามารถพบเห็นสัตว์น้อยใหญ่แมกไม้นานาพันธุ์ และพรรณดอกไม้ป่าที่บานสะพรั่งอยู่ตามหุบเขาเส้นทางเดินของช้าง นกน้อยๆส่งเสียงเจี้ยวจ้าวทั่วป่า